Can I Access The Internet In Bali?

Recently as I was planning on travelling Bali, Indonesia, with my close friends. As I was planning the trip I considered whether or not it would be wise to bring my laptop. When considering this decision it occurred to me that I had no idea whether I could even access the internet in Bali. I had never travelled to Bali before and my knowledge about internet access in Indonesia was very limited.

I decided to create a cartoon to discuss my autoethnographic (lack of) understanding about Balinese internet connectivity, before travelling to Bali, and then once I arrived, I could create a photo essay to capture the internet capabilities on the island. The result is this video – shown below – that depicts my initial thoughts and assumptions on the topic, in cartoon form. The cartoon is accompanied by a photo essay which highlights my initial encounter with Balinese internet accessibility.

