Left Handed

IMG_3950.jpg

Left Handed is a computational sketch that explores the process of repetition and variation. The work was in Inspired by Alvin Lucier’s I Am Standing in a Room (1969) in which the artist positioned himself in a room and recorded himself narrating a text. He then plays back the recording and simultaneously re-records it. By repeating this process numerous times Lucier is employing the process of iteration to expose the acoustics of the space he is recording in.

This work employs a similar iterative methodology to Lucier in an attempt to explore the patterns inherent in human computational processes. I instructed myself to use a lead pencil to draw a square in the bottom left-hand corner of a piece of paper. The square is then enclosed in a square twice the size of the original that square is enclosed in another square twice as large as the second square. This action is repeated until the page is filled with iterations of the initial instruction. The work was increasingly smudged as I repeated the process because I was drawing with my left hand. The various smudges form a pattern that exposes the imperfect computational nature of my creative process.

Reference:

Strickland, E 1993, Minimalism: Origins, Indiana University Press, Indiana, pp 281

